Caravanserai, the travel and culture meet

In the days of old, on the Silk Route, as the sun came down, the caravans heading in all directions stopped for the night. The resting place was called a Caravanserai. Huddled around the fire, strangers come together to tell stories from their travels. Ours is the same but on Zoom.

A crumbling section of the great wall, Inner Mongolia.

Upcoming meets

The farthest you have been from home

What is the farthest you have been from your home? The place from where postcards took a month to reach your folks. The place where everything was different and no one knew you or your country. You were not just yourself but a book/wikipedia about your country for everyone around you.

We have a guest coming all the way from Panama talking to us about happenings in South and Central America.

Germany, Wednesday 28 October

8:30 PM Tokyo, 7:30 PM Singapore/Hong Kong/Taipei, 6:30 PM Bangkok/Saigon/Phnom Penh/ Jakarta

This month we will discuss Germany with Kelly. I will update details of second guest soon.

Past meets

Shan state and Ha Giang, Wednesday 23 September

8:30 PM Tokyo, 7:30 PM Singapore/Hong Kong/Taipei, 6:30 PM Bangkok/Saigon/Phnom Penh/ Jakarta

This month we will discuss two unique parts of South East Asia with two special guests. We will start with Shan State with our guest May. Shan is a region of Myanmar that borders China, Lao and Thailand. Shan state is known for attractions such as Inle Lake and the diversity of its cultures.

Next, we will talk to Rachael, just back from Ha Giang, the northernmost part of Vietnam that borders China. This region is famous for its breathtaking views of limestone peaks and forested valleys.

Rachael and May are also involved in multiple community projects. Feel free to ask questions about popular culture and the happenings in Burma and Vietnam.

Airports and aeroplanes, Wednesday 9 September

Soviet Airlines

10 PM Tokyo, 9 PM Singapore/Hong Kong/Taipei, 8 PM Bangkok/Saigon/Phnom Penh/ Jakarta

Who are the memorable people you met on your flights? Do you have any fun airport stories? What is your favourite or least favourite airport? What is the scariest flight that you experienced?

Join us and share your stories of aeroplanes and airports.

The Deep South of Thailand, Saturday 29 August

2 PM Singapore, 1 PM Bangkok

The Deep South of Thailand hosts a fascinating culture - the place where the Thai merges with the Malay. It is also a part of Thailand that is outside of most tourist itineraries. We are delighted to have university students from this part of Thailand join us and answer our questions about this region.

Unseen Hong Kong, Wednesday 26 August

8:30 PM Tokyo, 7:30 PM Singapore/Hong Kong/Taipei, 6:30 PM Bangkok/Saigon/Phnom Penh/ Jakarta

Hong Kong may be a rare large city where within thirty minutes one can travel from the bustling business district to a quiet village. We will have two guests Hannie and Helen to share their love of exploring Hong Kong.

Stay connected

Want to get an update when we schedule the next Caravanserai. Email at smarterbysharing@gmail.com.